Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Skip to content

Citizen of the Year

Every Year the Greater Miami Shores Chamber of Commerce celebrates someone who's contribution to our community goes over and above.

Past winners have included:

2021 Angela Dorney, Director of Recreation, Miami Shores Village

2020 Douglas Romanik, Cushman High School Assistant Director, Community Advocate and Leader

2019 The Heidi Hewes Chapter of the Woman’s Cancer Association of the University of Miami

2018 The Villages of Biscayne Park, El Portal, Miami Shores and North North Bay Village

2017 In Memoriam: Dr. Susan Dombrowsky, Community Advocate & Jerry Estep, Former Miami Shores Recreation Director

2016 Sister Linda Bevilacqua, President, Barry University

2015 Dennis Kleinman, Doctors Charter School Advocate

2014 Susan Ackley, Community & Arts Activist

2013 Councilman Al Davis

2012 Lance Harke, Harke Clasby & Bushman LLC, Downtown Village Place Champion

2011 Barry University

2010 Jim McCoy, Chair of “Celebrate Village Place,” past Chamber President & Mayor

2009 Georgee’ Kluck, cancer groups, anti-drug leadership for kids, and Chamber

2008 Tammy Austin, community activist in education, cancer groups, and Chamber

2007 Robert J. Bourne, Realtor, financial support for schools, cancer society & arts

2006 Alice Burch, community activist & leadership for education and the library

2005 John L. Stokesberry, community activist and public administrator

2004 North Dade Medical Foundation, funding of Library & Charter High School

2003 Anne Piper, civic activist, SPATS, PTAs, & Girl Scouts.

2002 Bekky Leonard, leader, Prop. Owners Assoc., school districting & Girl Scouts

2001 Herta Holly, Civic Activist, Former Mayor & Chamber President

2000 Bill Heffernan, Former Mayor & Civic Leader

1999 Dottie Yates, Civic Organizer, Citz. Crime Watch, Property Owners Association

1998 Candy Becker Rengstl, Activist & Volunteer, President of SPATS

1997 Steve Johnson, Civic Activist, Former Mayor & Chamber President

1996 Donna Baxter, Civic Activist

1995 Charles Kluck, Community Activist & Chair, Taste of the Shores Festival

1994 Thomas J. Benton, Asst. Village Mgr. & Director of Public Works (Hurricane)

1993 Vincent J. Schafmeister, Jr., Community Activist, North Shore Hospital Foundation

1992 Bruce Keller, Community Activist

1991 Marty Stofik, Former Councilwoman & Civic Activist

1990 Barbara North Burton, Attorney & Community Activist

1989 Miami Country Day School (U.S. Excellence in Education Award) Miami Shores Elementary School (U.S. Excellence in Education Award)

1988 Edward Abdella, Community Activist for 25 years

1987 Helen Hollinger, Artist Sister M. Anne Berdard Gradl, IHM, Principal, St.Rose of Lima School, (U.S. Excellence in Education Award) Cesar Sastre, MD, Science-North Shore

Medical Center

1986 Joe Robbie, Owner, Miami Dolphins

1985 Antoinette Vigneron, Village Clerk (*also 1976)

1984 Sister Jeanne O’Laughlin, O.P., Ph.D., President, Barry University

1983 Ralph Renick, News Commentator, Channel 6 TV

1982 Miami Shores Village 50th Anniversary

1981 Wayne Fariss, News Anchor, Channel 7 TV

1980 Donald W. McIntosh, Former Village Mayor & Councilman

1979 Msgr. James F. Enright, Pastor, St. Rose of Lima Catholic Church

1978 Rev. J. Calvin Rose, DD, Pastor, M/S. Presbyterian Church

1977 Harold Petrey, Director, Miami Shores Recreation Department

1976 Agnes Barber Blake, President, Peoples 1st National Bankof Miami Shores, Ann Vigneron, Miami Shores Village Clerk, Katheryne Hagearty Contributions of the Community

1975 Roy M. Abagnale, Community Activist

1974 Sister Dorothy Browne, OP, PhD., President, Barry College

1973 Rear Admiral Irvin J. Stephens, USCG (Retired)

1972 Glen E. Byrd

1971 Glenn McElwain, Dedicated Merchant

1970 Dean Clausen, Village Councilman

1969 C. Lawton McCall, Village Manager

1968 Leonard A. Usina, Chair., Peoples 1st Nat’l Bank of Miami Shores


2021 Citizen of the Year Honoring Angey Dorney